Climate Action Organizing

Canada Is [Still] On Fire — Mass Organizing Call

Climate scientists just declared a code red. But our politicians aren’t acting like it’s an emergency. Time to ramp up the pressure. 

Join us on Tuesday, August 17 at 3pm PT / 4pm MT / 5pm CT / 6pm ET / 7pm AT / 7:30pm NDT to learn about our bold, unapologetic plans to demand real action on the climate emergency.

Sign up – https://act.350.org/signup/still-on-fire

Extreme heat early this summer has sparked one of the worst wildfire seasons on record. We’ve seen smoke cover cities, flooding, droughts and just heard from the IPCC that this is a “code red” moment when it comes to tackling the climate emergency. And, this is all happening with the specter of an election on the horizon. That’s why we’ve got a plan to bring climate action to the forefront of the Canadian political landscape but we can’t do it without you.

Spread the word – twitter | facebook


Work for Climate Action – Jobs, Internships, Volunteer, Action: GoodWork.ca/Climate

TORONTO CLIMATE STRIKES

FRIDAYS FOR FUTURE

  • Every Friday: FridaysforFuture.ca
  • Next Global Strike:
    Friday November 29, 2019 
    FridaysforFuture.ca — “Millions of us will walk out of our workplaces and homes to join young climate strikers on the streets and demand an end to the age of fossil fuels. Our house is on fire — let’s act like it. We demand climate justice for everyone.”

“People are dying. Entire ecosystems are collapsing. We are in the beginning of a mass extinction. And all you can talk about is money and fairytales of eternal economic growth. How dare you!” — Greta Thunberg

Find a strike or start your own:


Climate basics: 350.org/science

Myths vs  facts: SkepticalScience.com

Climate action jobs, contracts, volunteering: GoodWork.ca/Climate

 

Fridays for Future / School Strike for Climate

School Strike for Climate
Friday May 3, Canada

Toronto Fridays for Future
https://www.facebook.com/fridaysforfutureto/

Toronto Queens Park, May 3, 12:30 – 2:30pm

More: cop24climatestrike.com (map) | Fridaysforfuture.org (map)

#FridaysForFuture | #SchoolStrike4Climate | #ClimateStrike

“Adults are jeopardizing our future. You say you love your children above all else, and yet you are stealing their future in front of their very eyes. Something big needs to happen. People need to realize our political leaders have failed us. And we need to take action into our own hands.” — Greta Thunberg

“Our house is on fire. I am here to say, our house is on fire. I want you to act as you would in a crisis. I want you to act as if our house is on fire. Because it is.” — Greta Thunberg

“What’s the point of going to school if I won’t have a future?” – Sophia

Greta Thunberg: Twitter | Instagram | Facebook

GoodWork.ca/Fridays (resources, volunteering, organizations, more)

Elizabeth May on the IPCC Report on Climate Change

If you care about our world, and haven’t watched this extraordinary 10 minute speech by @Elizabeth May you need to do so right now…

“The good news is we still have a chance to save ourselves. To save the lives of our children, what would we not do? We as homo sapiens, the clever species, the smart ones, have at most 10 to 12 years to ensure that we stop greenhouse gas emissions. We are stepping up. We are going to rescue everybody…” — Elizabeth May | Youtube | Facebook

Climate change jobs, volunteering, more:  GoodWork.ca/be-the-change

Read more, take action: